Board elects chairman, other leaders


At its regular meeting on June 19, The University of Akron’s Board of Trustees elected Richard W. Pogue of Shaker Heights as Chairman, Jonathan T. Pavloff of Akron and Nicholas C. York of Avon Lake as Vice Chairs, Ted A. Mallo of Green as Secretary and Paul A. Herold of Cuyahoga Falls as Assistant Secretary.  Their one-year, renewable terms are effective immediately.

Richard Pogue

Richard W. PoguePogue, who was Vice Chairman of the Board in 2009-2012 and is entering his second term as Chair, is currently Senior Advisor at Jones Day, the second-largest law firm in the United States. A graduate of Cornell University (1950) and the University of Michigan Law School (1953), he served three years in the Patents Division, Office of the Judge Advocate General, United States Army before beginning a long and distinguished career with the law firm now known as Jones Day. During his nine years as managing partner there, the firm grew from 335 to 1,250 lawyers and from five domestic offices to 20 worldwide.

Throughout his career, Pogue has chaired many major civic organizations in Cleveland and the region, including—The Cleveland Foundation, Business Volunteers Unlimited, University Hospitals Health System, the Greater Cleveland Growth Association, The City Club of Cleveland, the Presidents’ Council Foundation, Cleveland Institute of Music, the Red Cross Greater Cleveland Chapter, Kulas Foundation and Cleveland United Way’s Humanitarian Society.  He also serves as Chairman of the Dean’s Advisory Committee at Michigan Law School and a founding director of the Business Alliance for Higher Education & the Economy. In addition, Pogue has been a director of many for-profit corporations, including Continental Airlines, TRW and KeyCorp.

After being chairman of the Governor's Commission on Higher Education in 2003, Pogue was appointed to The University of Akron’s Board in 2004 for a limited term and reappointed in 2006 for a full term that expires in July 2015. Pogue

Jonathan T. Pavloff

Jonathan T. PavloffAppointed to the Board in 2011, Jonathan T. Pavloff will serve his second term as Vice Chair.

With a successful logistics career that spans Fortune 500 companies, entrepreneurial ventures and consulting, Pavloff’s experience at Roadway Express and Roadway Services included 16 years as a corporate officer, including president of Roadway Services’ Information Technology Operating Unit, Summit Information Systems, and vice president of corporate planning. In the latter role, he managed business planning and development activity, culminating in the spin-off of Roadway Express from Roadway Services and the creation of Caliber System.

Pavloff, a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, also serves on the boards of the Margaret Clark Morgan Foundation, the Old Trail School Foundation and the Summa Foundation. His term expires in 2016.

Nicholas C. York

Nicholas C. YorkNicholas C. York, Vice Chair, was appointed to the Board in 2010. A former partner in the Cleveland office of Tucker Ellis & West LLP, he now serves as CEO of Kaser Enterprises, a business advisory and advocacy firm working to advance innovative ideas, products and services via public-private partnerships, strategic alliances and private equity investment.

York is a long-time proponent of civic and community involvement and currently serves on the boards of the Mindful Nation Foundation and the Joaquin Weiss Institute at Hiram College.

He formerly was Vice Chair of the Council of Smaller Enterprises (COSE). He also was an elected official in his hometown of Avon Lake, where he remains active in school and children's activities as a coach and mentor. 

York was named one of Crain's Cleveland "40 under 40" in 2004 and is a graduate of Leadership Cleveland's Class of 2009. He holds a bachelor's degree from Ohio University and a Juris Doctor from Capital University Law School. His term expires in 2014.