Nikola Resanovic

Nikola Resanovic

Title: Professor Emeritus, Senior Lecturer
Dept/Program: Music - Theory/Composition
Phone: 330/972-6592


The musical works of Nikola Resanovic have been performed at hundreds of music festivals and concerts throughout the United States, Europe, Asia, South America, Australia and Africa including the 2005 International Clarinet Festival in Tokyo, Japan, the 2005 International Festival of Music in Xian, China, the 2006 International Double Reed Society Conference in Muncie, Indiana, the 2007 International Society of Bassists Conference in Kalamazoo, Michigan, the 2010 International Double Reed Society Conference in Norman, Oklahoma, the 2012 National Flute Association Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada, and the 2014 International Clarifest in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

His compositions have been performed by the Cleveland Orchestra, Jacksonville Symphony, Cairo (Egypt) National Symphony, Odessa (Ukraine) Symphony, Toledo Symphony, Greater-Palm Beach Symphony, Akron Symphony, Mansfield Symphony, Lima Symphony, Tuscarawas Philharmonic, Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra, Akron Youth Symphony, The Contemporary Youth Orchestra, Ludwig Symphony (Atlanta) Cleveland Orchestra Trio, Coryton Ensemble, Solaris wind quintet, Paragon Brass Quintet, Chicago Brass Choir, Etesian wind quintet, the Prairie Winds, the Burle Marx Trio, the Australian Ensemble Liaison, the Crescent Duo, the Cleveland Duo, the grammy nominated Imani Winds and numerous ensembles and individual performing artists around the world.

His recently commissioned works include a Concerto for Violin, Piano and Wind Ensemble (2013) commissioned by a consortium of ten wind ensembles including Case Western, Eastman, Ohio State, Wisconsin, Kansas State, Capitol, Butler, Doane, Lycoming and the Cleveland Institute of Music; a Sonata for Bb Clarinet and Piano (2010), commissioned by Cynthia Doggett and funded by an Iowa Arts Council Grant; a Quartet for Oboe, Bassoon, Violin and Cello (2010), commissioned by George Ryon & Alain and Anne De Gourdon of Lorée Oboes; and a Duo for Violin and Piano (2008), written for the Cleveland Duo and commissioned by the Fortnightly Musical Club of Cleveland.

Born in Derby, England in 1955, Nikola Resanovic is of Serbian heritage and has lived in the United States since 1966. He is a graduate of the University of Akron, School of Music (BM 77, MM 79) and the Cleveland Institute of Music (DMA 81) where he studied Composition with Donald Erb.

A recipient of the 2003 Cleveland Arts Prize, Dr. Resanovic is presently Professor of Music at the University of Akron where he has taught music Composition and Theory since 1983. In addition, he supervises the school’s Electronic Music Facility, which he designed and implemented. For more information about the composer, his music and his activities visit his website at: