IP Scholars Forum

Each fall, the Akron Law IP Center’s annual IP Scholars Forum features presentations of papers by six or seven esteemed scholars. The invited scholars arrive on Thursday evening for a casual dinner. On Friday, they convene with Akron Law IP faculty at the law school for a full-day conference, with papers to be published in the spring intellectual property issue of the Akron Law Review.

Akron Law IP students and the managing editor of the IP Issue of the law review later join the guest scholars for a coffee & dessert break.  On Friday evening, the guests join IP faculty to attend a performance of the Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Hall before traveling home on Saturday.

2021 IP Scholars

  • Dennis Crouch (Missouri)
  • Homayoon Rafatijo (Missouri)
  • Debora Halbert (Hawaii)
  • Lateef Mtima (Howard)
  • Mike Schuster (Georgia)
  • Miriam Marcowitz-Bitton (Bar-Ilan)
  • Kuhu Tiwari (IIT Kharagpur)
  • Niharika Bhattacharya (IIT Kharagpur)

2020 IP Scholars

  • Irene Calboli (Texas A&M)
  • Maggie Chon (Seattle)
  • Robert Merges (Berkeley),
  • Kristen Osenga (Richmond)
  • Sharon Sandeen (Mitchell-Hamline)

2019 IP Scholars

  • Clark D. Asay (BYU)
  • Erika Lietzan (Missouri)
  • Glynn S. Lunney, Jr. (Texas A&M)
  • Zahr K. Said (UW)
  • Joshua D. Sarnoff (DePaul)

2018 IP Scholars

  • Christine Farley (American)
  • Deborah Gerhardt (UNC)
  • Daryl Lim (John Marshall)
  • Irina Manta (Hofstra)
  • Shawn Miller (Stanford)
  • Eric Priest (Oregon)
  • Andrew Torrance (Kansas)