Mitchell S. McKinney, Ph.D.

Mitchell S. McKinney, Ph.D.

OFFICE OF THE DEAN | BUCHTEL COLLEGE OF ARTS & SCIENCES

Dean Mitchell S. McKinney

A renown political communication scholar, Mitchell S. McKinney, Ph.D., is dean of the Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences.

McKinney joined UA from the University of Missouri, where he served as professor of communication and director and founder of the Political Communication Institute.

During his tenure at Missouri, he was appointed to several academic leadership positions, including director of graduate studies, and both associate department chair and chair of the Department of Communication, one of MU’s largest academic units. He also served as Faculty Fellow for academic affairs in the Office of the Provost.

“It’s a tremendous honor to be dean of the Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences” McKinney said. “Colleges of Arts and Sciences serve as the intellectual core of the university; and during such challenging times for higher education, I’m eager to begin my partnership with the outstanding faculty and staff in education, fine arts, humanities, social sciences, and the natural sciences as we serve our students and the Akron and Northeast Ohio communities through our instruction, research and creative endeavors, and engagement activities. I’m anxious to begin work with my UA dean colleagues and other senior campus leadership as we continue building one of our nation’s truly exceptional urban research universities.”

Email Dean McKinney: mmckinney@uakron.edu

Full biography 


Office directory

Senior administration

Bill Lyons

Bill Lyons, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Faculty Support
Professor of Political Science
330-972-5855
wtlyons@uakron.edu

Hazel Barton

Hazel Barton, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies
Professor of Biology
330-972-2518
bartonh@uakron.edu

Ann Usher, Ph.D.

Ann Usher, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies
Professor of Music
330-972-6923
ausher@uakron.edu

Joe Wilder headshot

Joseph Wilder, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Fiscal Affairs and Data Analytics
Professor of Mathematics
330-972-8020
wilder@uakron.edu

PROFESSIONAL staff

Lisa Craig

Lisa Craig
Director, Communication and Marketing
330-972-7429
lmc91@uakron.edu

Ashley Rini

Ashley Rini, M.S.
Director, Advising
Director, Pre-Health Advising
330-972-6513
rini@uakron.edu

Jess M. Otto

Jess M. Otto, Ph.D.
Faculty Fellow for Inclusion, Diversity & Equity
330-972-8486
jotto@uakron.edu

Office staff

Martha Reynolds

Martha Reynolds
Coordinator, Administrative Services
330-972-7857
martha2@uakron.edu

BonkoLauren UA headshot.jpg

Laura Bonko
Program Specialist
330-972-2632
lmbonko@uakron.edu

Susan Baker
Program Specialist
330-972-6451
sbaker@uakron.edu

Marlene Pryor
Secretary
330-972-7880
mpryor1@uakron.edu