The 8th Annual Ludy T. Benjamin, Jr. Distinguished Lecture in the History of Psychology

Save the Date: May 19, 2022 

Speaker: David B. Baker, Ph.D., Margaret Clark Morgan Executive Director Emeritus, Drs. Nicholas and Dorothy Cummings Center for the History of Psychology, Professor of Psychology Emeritus David Baker headshot

Title: Saving Time: The History of Psychology and the Human Experience

Presentation Overview:

Building a home for the history of psychology over the past two decades has afforded ample opportunities for understanding our past and ourselves. This talk with review some of those opportunities, lessons learned, and hopes for the future.


Dr. Baker has more than four decades of experience as a clinician, researcher, educator and administrator. As a professor of psychology he has taught, supervised, advised, and mentored students at the undergraduate and graduate levels. As a researcher and scholar he has authored, co-authored, or edited more than 70 publications, including four books. He is a fellow of the American Psychological Association and the Association for Psychological Science. As the Margaret Clark Morgan Director of the Cummings Center for the History of Psychology he has advanced the Center into a place of national and international prominence. During his tenure at the University of Akron he has served in leadership roles as the Interim Dean of University Libraries, Interim Associate Provost for Teaching, Learning, and Faculty Development, and Interim Provost, Senior Vice President, and Chief Operating Officer.

About the Ludy T. Benjamin, Jr. Distinguished Lecture

Ludy T. Benjamin, Jr.

This lecture series honors Ludy T. Benjamin, Jr., an outstanding teacher, scholar, and researcher, whose work has contributed significantly to our understanding of psychology and its history.

The annual Ludy T. Benjamin, Jr. Distinguished Lecture in the History of Psychology is hosted by the CCHP each year in May.

The CCHP invites you to sponsor a lecture.  See additional details on the sponsorship letter.

Past lectures are available to view through the CCHP Youtube channel:

2021: Postponed due to COVID-19

2020: Postponed due to COVID-19

2019: Dr. Laura Stark

2018: Dr. David G. Myers

2017: Dr. Keith Humphreys

2016 : Dr. Scott Lilienfeld

2015 : Dr. Elizabeth Loftus

2014: Dr. Andrew Winston

2013: Dr. Henry "Roddy" Roediger