Diversity Council advances Inclusive Excellence principles

The University of Akron

Martin H. Belsky, J.D., Randolph Baxter Professor of Law, and Dr. Carl Wallace, Interim , Chief Diversity Officer, lead the council together.

College Deans:

  • David Gordon, Ph.D., Dean, College of Health Professions
  • John Green, Ph.D., Interim Dean, Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences
  • Phyllis G. O’Connor, Interim Dean, University Libraries

College representatives:

  • Mrs. Robin L. Angell, College of Health Professions
  • Aimee deChambeau, Ph.D., University Libraries
  • Amy Shriver Dreussi, Ph.D, College of Applied Science and Technology
  • William Hauser, Ph.D., College of Business Administration
  • Gordon Holly, M.Ed., Wayne College
  • Brant T. Lee, J.D., School of Law
  • Varunee (Faii) Sangganjanavanich, Ph.D., LeBron James Family Foundation College of Education
  • Shaddrick Stinson, M.Ed., Honors College
  • Mesfin Tsige, Ph.D., College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering
  • Sheldon B. Wrice, Ed.D., Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences
  • Julie Zhao, Ph.D., College of Engineering

Student representatives:

  • President, Undergraduate Student Government
  • President, Graduate Student Government
  • President, Student African American Brotherhood
  • President, Hispanics and Latinos Organized
  • Angel Poole, President, Pan-African Student Organization

Community representatives:

  • David James, Superintendent, Akron Public Schools
  • Judi Bevly Hill, President, Akron Chapter, NAACP
  • Russel Neal, Jr., Akron 4th Ward Councilman

Administrative representatives:

  • Becky Hoover, Ph.D., Associate Provost for Talent Development
  • Holly Harris-Bane, Associate Vice President, Strategic Initiatives & Engagement
  • Kathleen M. Kulick, Director, Office of Accessibility

 Ex-Officio members:

  • Interim, President
  • Dr. William “Mike” Sherman, Senior Vice President and Provost/COO

Diversity Council Subcommittees