DellaCorte receives 2022 Mayo D. Hersey Award


Christopher DellaCorte, Ph.D.

Christopher DellaCorte, Ph.D.

Dr. Christopher DellaCorte, Timken Endowed Chair and Director of The University of Akron Engineering Tribology Laboratory received the 2022 Mayo D. Hersey award for his significant contributions to space tribology, solid lubrication, and rotating turbomachinery.

The Mayo D. Hersey Award is bestowed on an individual in recognition of distinguished and continued contributions over a substantial period of time to the advancement of the science and engineering of tribology (friction, wear and lubrication). Distinguished contributions may result from significant original research in one or more of the many scientific disciplines related to lubrication, from excellence and creativity in lubrication engineering practice, or from sustained and forthright efforts and dissemination of information on the theory and practice of lubrication.

To recognize leadership in lubrication science and engineering of Mayo D. Hersey, this award was established in 1965 by the joint bequest of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Lubrication Division (now Tribology Division) and the ASME Research Committee on Lubrication (now Research Committee on Tribology).

DellaCorte’s current focus is developing the next generation of technologists by teaching students how to conduct research and work in a lab environment. He is attracting sponsored R&D from aerospace and other industrial sectors to the lab where he and both undergraduate and graduate students work on solving industry’s tribology problems together. 

Read Dr. Chris DellaCorte’s complete bio.

Media contact: Cristine Boyd, 330-972-6476 or