The University of Akron Minutes of Graduate Council September 26, 2016

The Graduate Council met on Monday, September 26, 2016, in the Student Union, Room 310. Dean Chand Midha presided. Present were Dr. Philip Allen, Associate Dean Charles Beneke, Dr. Amanda Booher, Dr. Marcus Braga-Alves, Dr. Gary Holliday, Dr. Ronald Otterstetter, Dr. Judit Puskas, Dr. Martha Santos, Dr. Shivakumar Sastry, Dr. John Senko, Dr. James Steiger, Dr. Harvey Sterns, Dr. Baffour Takyi and Dr. Nicole Zacharia.

GC Members Absent with Notice: Dr. Qetler Jensrud

GC Members Absent: Dr. Andrew Thomas

Call to Order

Dean Midha called the meeting to order at 9:11 a.m.

Roll Call

Heather Blake recorded the attendance of those present.

Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the May 9, 2016 were approved without dissent.

Dr. Sastry noted corrections to the minutes of the September 19, 2016 meeting. These corrections will be made to minutes, and the revised minutes will be sent to Council members for review. If no further corrections are received the minutes will be considered approved.

Remarks - Dean Midha

Dean Midha stated that the subcommittee met following the September 19 meeting of Graduate Council to further discuss program review. Program review should be carried out in such a way that the outcomes of program assessment have a meaningful impact on the mission of the University. The intent is to have a formative review of the program that result in refining and growth of our programs.

Associate Dean Charles Beneke presented a rough draft proposal for program review. The plan is to take this draft to the Council of Deans meeting and seek input from the college deans and Interim Provost.

Election of Vice Chair

Dr. Otterstetter was elected as Vice Chair of Graduate Council.

Election of Secretary

Dr. Sastry was elected as Secretary of Graduate Council

Selection of Standing Committees

Chairs and Vice Chairs of the three standing committee of Graduate Council were elected. Remaining members of the standing committees will come from the membership of the graduate faculty.

Selection of Program Review Committee Members

Dr. Sastry and Dr. Nicole Zacharia volunteered to serve as Graduate Council representatives on the Program Review Committee. Members presented unanimously elected Dr. Sastry and Dr. Zacharia. One more representative from Graduate Council is still needed.

New Business

Dean Midha indicated that for the remainder of the fall semester Graduate Council meetings will begin at 9:00 AM instead of 10:00 AM.

Meeting adjourned at 10:12 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Shivakumar Sastry Secretary