The University of Akron Minutes of Graduate Council May 3, 2017

The Graduate Council met on Wednesday, May 3, 2017, in the Student Union, Room 310. Dean Chand Midha presided. Present were Dr. Philip Allen, Associate Dean Charles Beneke, Heather Blake, Dr. Amanda Booher, Dr. Marcus Braga-Alves, Dr. Gary Holliday, Diane Maffei, Dr. Ronald Otterstetter, Dr. Shivakumar Sastry, Dr. John Senko, Dr. Harvey Sterns, Dr. Margaret Tung, and Dr. Nicole Zacharia.

GC Members Absent with Notice: Dr. Qetler Jensrud, Dr. Judit Puskas, Dr. Martha Santos, Dr. James Steiger, Dr. Baffour Takyi, and Dr. Andrew Thomas

GC Members Absent: Marina Pelemis

Call to Order

Dean Midha called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

Roll Call

Heather Blake recorded the attendance of those present.

Approval of Minutes

Dr. Allen made a motion to approve the minutes of April 17, 2017. Dr. Holliday seconded the motion. Minutes of the April 17, 2017 meeting were approved without dissent.

Remarks - Dean Midha

Dean Midha introduced Ms. Diane Maffei. Ms. Maffei has joined the Graduate School staff as Business Reporting Analyst.

Dean Midha stated that on April 19 he, Associate Dean Beneke, Ms. Maffei, Dr. Allen, Dr. Sastry, and Dr. Sterns met with Vice Chancellor Jim Bennett and his team at ODHE in Columbus to learn more about doctoral subsidy. It was confirmed that for students admitted to a doctoral program without holding a master's degree the first 34 credits taken are counted at the master's-level, and credits taken beyond the first 34 are classified into set-aside subsidy based on the course content. The concern here at UA is that courses are not correctly classified as either master's, master's/doctoral, or doctoral. Ms. Maffei will be working with department chairs and school directors to look at their courses to make sure they are correctly classified. This week Ms. Maffei looked at the Department of Psychology and determined their courses are correctly classified. The President and Provost have been informed of this effort.

Dean Midha said that while meeting with Vice Chancellor Bennett and his team they were able to clarify what programs are classified as STEM. STEM programs are those in in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Programs such as Psychology, Sociology, and Education are not considered STEM programs. In non-STEM programs 30 credits equal one FTE, and in STEM programs 20 credits equal one FTE.

Dr. Allen stated that some programs are defined as Doctoral I and Doctoral II. Certain doctoral levels may equal the STEM definition. Dean Midha asked Dr. Allen to prepare sheets describing Doctoral I and Doctoral II and distribute to Graduate Council members.

Dean Midha said that there are some doctoral programs at UA that admit students who don't hold a master's degree. When these students complete the doctoral program and do not complete a master's degree along the way we are losing subsidy. Data for 2015 showed that 120 doctoral degrees were conferred, 80 of which were in the STEM area. If half of the 80 doctoral degrees were students who earned a master's degree along the way we could have received approximately \$17,000 for each of those master's degrees.

Dean Midha stated that the annual graduate faculty meeting was held on Wednesday, April 26. There was very little attendance at the meeting. The graduate faculty did approve the revisions to the Bylaws of the Graduate Faculty to allow Graduate Council members to serve two consecutive terms but no more. This year's outgoing members of Graduate Council have initiated seeking nominees from their colleges and are now eligible to serve for one more term if they choose to do so. A report was provided to the graduate faculty

informing them of what Graduate Council has accomplished this year, including a new funding model for master's students, discontinuation of Graduate School funding stipends for research assistants, and English proficiency requirement for teaching assistants.

Dean Midha thanked the members of Graduate Council for their service this year.

Committee Reports

Curriculum Committee

Dr. Allen presented a log of 15 proposals as reviewed and approved by the committee: A&S-COMMUN-16-19149, A&S-COMMUN-16-19150, A&S-COMMUN-16-19152, A&S-COMMUN-16-19153, A&S-COMMUN-16-19155, A&S-COMMUN-16-19156, A&S-COMMUN-16-19158, A&S-COMMUN-16-19160, A&S-COMMUN-16-19161, A&S-COMMUN-16-19162, A&S-COMMUN-16-19163, EDUC-EDUFOUND-17-19917, EDUC-EDFOUND-17-19921, CHP-NURIN-17-19938, and CHP-NURIN-17-20519. Approved by Council.

Graduate Faculty Membership Committee

Dr. Holliday presented a log of 36 graduate faculty applications as reviewed and approved by the committee. Thirty five of the applications were approved by the committee. The committee was unable to approve one application as the applicant's publication as outside of the last five years. The applicant has been notified and will resubmit her graduate faculty application. Approved by Council.

Wondimu Ahmed	Susan G. Clark	Lynn S. Kline	Francesco Renna
Harvey L. Sterns	Paul E. Levy	Charles A. Waehler	Jennifer Tehan Stanley
Dennis Doverspike	Jie Zheng	George G. Chase	Bi-min Zhang Newby
Donald P. Visco, Jr.	Malik E. Elbuluk	Robert J. Veillette	J. Alexis De Abreu-Garcia
Seungdeog Choi	Huu Nghi Tran	William Schneider	Carolyn Behrman
Larry D. Snider	Nikola Resanovic	Paul J. Hartung	Julia Beckett
William Lyons	Alper Buldum	Robert R. Mallik	Chien-Chung Chen
Tim O'Neil	Jun Ye	Nao Mimoto	Gabriel F. Giralt
R. Ray Gehani	Susan Hanlon	Mahesh Srinivasan	

Dr. Gary Holliday stated that the Graduate Faculty Membership Committee discussed graduate faculty membership for non-tenure track faculty and offered recommendation for consideration.

- Non-tenure track faculty members apply for Ad Hoc Temporary graduate faculty status, if possible, for a specified period of time.
- Non-tenure track faculty members may be permitted to apply for full-time graduate faculty status fi they meet the current graduate faculty membership criteria to avoid creating another class of graduate faculty membership.
- It would be necessary to create a new NTT application (if the faculty member seeks full appointment), since the current full-time graduate faculty application clearly indicates "tenure track."

Dean Midha stated that NTT faculty members are currently applying for graduate faculty status as Ad Hoc Temporary.

Dr. Sastry said that the role of NTT faculty members is grossly misunderstood. These faculty members are hired just for teaching. Permitting them to apply for full graduate faculty status creates a pseudo tenure track position. This is a serious issue.

Dean Midha stated that the majority of NTT faculty are hired for teaching purposes, and in a few cases some may have written in their offer letters that they may engage in other activities.

Dr. Sterns suggested that it is not the status of NTT faculty which should be looked at but rather their academic credentials. The expertise of an individual should be recognized.

Dr. Zacharia questioned whether or not this is an issue about which the union may be concerned.

Graduate Council members discussed the role of NTT faculty members in their respective units, and if there is going to be a new level of graduate faculty status for NTT faculty it must be clearly defined and differentiated from full-time graduate faculty status.

Dr. Sastry stated that the whole notion of NTT graduate faculty membership needs to be revisited. There needs to be more data and more discussion. He made a motion to refer this back to the membership committee for further information. Dr. Sterns seconded the motion. Unanimously approved. Motion carries.

In conclusion of the meeting Dean Midha expressed his appreciation of the contributions made this year by the Graduate Council.

Meeting adjourned at 10:10 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Shivakumar Sastry Secretary