

The University of Akron Minutes of Graduate Council October 15, 2018

The Graduate Council meeting: 3rd Monday, October 15, 2018,

Place: Student Union, Room 310.

Dean Chand Midha presided.

Present: Ms. Heather Blake, Dr. George Chase, Dr. Todd Gaffke, Dr. R. Ray Gehani, Dr. Gary Holliday, Dr. Carolyn Murrock, Dr. Alex Povitsky, Dr. Jina Sang, Dr. Martha Santos, Associate Dean Marnie Saunders, Dr. John Senko, Dr. Mark Soucek, Dr. Baffour Takyi, and Dr. Claire Tessier.

GC Members Absent with Notice: Dr. Wondimu Ahmed, Dr. Amanda Booher, Mr. Alec Gerrerd, and Dr. Francesco Renna

GC Members Absent: Dr. Coleen Pugh

Call to Order: Dean Midha called the meeting to order at 9:12 a.m.

Roll Call: Heather Blake recorded the attendance of those present.

Approval of Minutes

Dr. Holliday made a motion to approve the minutes of September 17, 2018. Dr. Gaffke seconded the motion. Minutes of the September 17, 2018 meeting were approved without dissent.

1. Remarks – Dean Midha

Dean Midha stated that he recently attended a meeting in Columbus to discuss doctoral subsidy. The University currently receives approximately \$10 million. For the current fiscal year 25% of subsidy is indexed to FTE, 25% is indexed to research expenditure, and 50% is indexed to degree completion. FTE is challenging due to the decline in enrollment. If our target cannot be met, then we must meet 85% of it. Falling below 85% would result in a loss of the \$10 million the University currently receives. The state is looking at alternatives for the FTE component. There is also discussion pertaining to the research component. A meeting of the IUC Presidents will be held on December 5 at which a decision will be made.

Dean Midha noted that at the last Graduate Council meeting it was mentioned that Dr. Chase and Dr. Allen would be giving a presentation to the Board of Trustees at their October 10 meeting. He asked Dr. Chase if he would share with Council members the details of that presentation.

Dr. Chase responded that there was no presentation at the October 10 Board of Trustees meeting. He was asked to attend the meeting to answer any questions. He made a point that academics and research are intertwined and cannot be separated. The University is investing \$30 million into research. Dr. Chase indicated that teaching more classes does not increase the number of students. Thirty percent of enrollment has been lost between 2011 and 2018. We need to identify where we are losing students and allow faculty to work with those students. It is necessary to look at budgets are faculty-centric and student-centric.

Dr. Gehani suggested a review of data for the last three years.

Dean Midha indicated that many units admit students to the doctoral program without a master's degree. We should encourage students to get the master's degree along the way. This would provide for an increase in subsidy. He added that students admitted to a doctoral program without a master's degree are counted as master's students. They are not counted as doctoral students until they have completed 34 credit hours. Dean Midha stated that bringing to the attention of those departments that admit without a master's degree that encouraging their students to get a master's degree along the way would result in the University receiving approximately \$12,000 to \$17,000 depending on the field for conferral of these master's degrees.

Dr. Gehani made a motion to recommend to the colleges that they advise their doctoral students to apply for the master's degree in course. Dr. Chase seconded this motion. The motion was approved without dissent.

2. Election of Vice Chair

Dr. Soucek was elected as Vice Chair of Graduate Council.

3. Election of Secretary

Dr. Gehani was elected as Secretary of Graduate Council

4. Selection of Standing Committees

Dr. Ahmed was elected as Chair of the Curriculum Committee. Dr. Senko was elected as Vice Chair.

Dr. Holliday was elected as Chair of the Graduate Faculty Membership Committee. Dr. Tessier was elected as Vice Chair.

Dr. Amanda Booher was elected as Chair of the Student Policy Committee. Dr. Soucek was elected as Vice Chair.

Remaining members of the standing committees will come from the membership of the graduate faculty.

Associate Dean Saunders provided handouts to Graduate Council members that included items for the standing committees to address once they begin meeting. Also included was a summary of the new graduate faculty membership categories and updated graduate faculty application as well as the revised full-time student definition.

5. Academic Program Review Committee

Dean Midha stated that a new cycle of program review is beginning. Review will be on a seven-year cycle. Associate Dean Marnie Saunders and Dr. Joe Wilder are serving as co-chairs of the committee. The program review committee will consist of nine members. Three members will be selected from Graduate Council, and four members will come from the colleges, and the have been asked to submit names of faculty members. Terms of appointment will be staggered one to three years.

Meeting adjourned at 10:25 a.m.

Respectfully submitted for your consideration,

Dr. R. Ray Gehani Secretary