THE 2024 EX[L] CENTER COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AWARDS

WELCOME

DR. CHRISTIN SEHER & MS. MEGAN DELONG

COMMUNITY-ENGAGED TEACHING RECOGNITIONS

Acknowledges the creative and effective deployment of community-engaged teaching by full- or part-time faculty members/teams as a core component of a credit-bearing academic course. Recognition will be given to all courses/projects designed using best practices in community-based learning.

ANNA BALL, ZIPASSIST

ALISON DOEHRING, ZIPASSIST

DR. VANJA DJURIC, MARKETING

DR. SHANON DONNELLY, GEOSCIENCES

DR. SHANON DONNELLY, GEOSCIENCES

TANNYA FORCONE, ANTHROPOLOGY

DR. HILLARY NUNN, ENGLISH

DR. THERON BROWN, MUSIC

DR. LARA ROKETENETZ, BIOLOGY

DR. GREGORY WILSON, HISTORY



THE 2024 EX[L] CENTER

EXCELLENCE IN COMMUNITY-ENGAGED TEACHING AWARD

From those granted Community-Engaged Teaching Recognition, exemplars from each College will be selected by the EX[L] Awards Committee.

GENERAL

ANNA BALL & ALISON DOEHRING, ZIPASSIST - ZIPS RECHARGE TOGETHER

BUCHTEL COLLEGE OF ARTS & SCIENCES

DR. THERON BROWN, MUSIC, DR. HILLARY NUNN, ENGLISH, & DR. GREGORY WILSON, HISTORY - THE AKRON GREEN BOOK PROJECT

DR. SHANON DONNELLY, GEOSCIENCES - GEOLOGY AND ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICE LEARNING

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

DR. VANJA DJURIC, MARKETING - SENIOR CAPSTONE COURSE

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING & POLYMER SCIENCE COLLEGE OF HEALTH & HUMAN SCIENCES



COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AWARDS

EXCELLENCE IN CAMPUS-COMMUNITY COLLABORATION AWARD

Recognizes deep and reciprocal collaborative partnerships that strengthen UA/community connections and enrich both the student learning experience and the fabric of the Greater Akron community. This award may be granted for curricular or co-curricular engagement and goes to the individual or team from UA and their community partner(s).

JULIE CAJIGAS, COMMUNICATION & DOMINIC CARUSO, DOWNTOWN AKRON PARTNERSHIP - ZIPS GUIDE AKRON

DR. DANI JAUK-AJAMIE, CRIMINAL JUSTICE STUDIES, DR. MARY TRIECE, COMMUNICATION & WOMEN'S STUDIES, & ELIZABETH'S BOOKSHOP, REPRODUCTIVE JUSTICE BOOK CIRCLE

DR. ELISA GARGARELLA, MYERS SCHOOL OF ART, THE ART BOMB BRIGADE & UNIVERSITY PARK PARNTERS, "DON'T FORGET YOUR NEIGHBORHOOD" MURAL

EXCELLENCE IN COMMUNITY-ENGAGED SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

Recognizes community-based research, creative, or scholarly activity that significantly impacts the Greater Akron community. Selected by the EX[L] Faculty Steering Committee.



THE 2024 EX[L] CENTER

COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT CHAMPION AWARD

Recognizes those who work to champion the values expressed in EX[L]'s mission and support community engagement at UA.

FRANK BRONZO, ENVIRONMENTAL DESIGN GROUP

STEPHANIE DAVIS, I PROMISE SCHOOL

TOM HAMMOND, WAYNE CAMPUS

DR. JUDI JUVANICIC-HELTZEL, EXERCISE & NUTRITION SCIENCES

SCOTT KENIMOND, UA STUDENT

DR. TIM MCCARRAGHER, SOCIAL WORK

DR. JOHN MESSINA. STUDENT AFFAIRS

ORIANA HOUSE INC., ELECTRONIC MONITORING TEAM

SUMMIT METROPARKS

AARON UHL, UA STUDENT

DISTINGUISHED AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT

Recognizes exceptional commitment to advancing community engagement at the University of Akron. Recipient(s) are selected by EX[L] Center leadership.



COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT AWARDS

PRESENTATION OF THE SECOND AKRON COMMUNITY ENGAGED SCHOLARS COHORT

Akron Community Engaged Scholars (ACE Scholars or ACES) is a way to formally affiliate with the EX[L] Center for Community Engaged Learning for those full- or part-time faculty who demonstrate a commitment to public impact by connecting campus and community through their teaching, scholarship, and/or significant service.



PRESENTATION OF THE 2024 LIFETIME ACE SCHOLARS

Recognizes faculty when they move on from UA who were instrumental in building and supporting a strong culture of community engagement through their support of The EX[L] Center and with their teaching and scholarship.

DR. JOHN GREEN, RAY C. BLISS INSTITUTE OF APPLIED POLITICS & PROFESSOR EMERITUS, POLITICAL SCIENCE

DR. DEBORAH OWENS, CHAIR, DEPARTMENT OF MARKETING



THANK YOU!

23 - 24 FACULTY STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

DR. MEHMET BAYSAL, MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

DR. SYDNEY CHINCHANACHOKCHAI, MARKETING

JULIE CORTES, UA SCHOOL OF LAW

ALISON DOEHRING, ZIPASSIST

DR. SHANON DONNELLY, GEOSCIENCES

DR. AMBER FERRIS (CHAIR), COMMUNICATION

NICK GLAVAN, UA RESEARCH FOUNDATION

DR. RHIANNON KALLIS, COMMUNICATION

DR. KARA KVARAN, WOMEN'S STUDIES

DR. BILL LYONS, POLITICAL SCIENCE

DR. JON MILLER, ENGLISH, UA PRESS

