Named scholarships

When it comes to earning a college degree, the greatest obstacle can be funding.

For this reason, The University of Akron is pleased for the opportunity each year to assist talented, deserving students achieve their dreams, thanks to more than 1,300 named scholarships established through the kindness and generosity of thousands of UA alumni and friends, corporations, and foundations.

Scholarships truly are the best way to ensure that today’s students persist to graduation. Scholarships allow students to enroll full time and remain focused on their studies; they also reduce drop-out rates, decrease the stress of student loans, and shorten the road to graduation.

The need for scholarships grows each year, however, as students continue to face an increased financial burden in pursuit of a college degree. In fact, 94 percent of today’s baccalaureate students borrow to pay for college – versus just 45 percent in 1993. Across the country, the average college-related debt for borrowers in the class of 2016 was $37,172; for Ohio students, that figure was $30,239.

If you are interested in making a significant contribution to student success, please consider a gift to the MAKING A DIFFERENCE AND MOVING FORWARD scholarship campaign, which is the University's most important initiative. You may also establish a named scholarship at The University of Akron, which can be created to honor a living person, in memory of a loved one, or to contribute to the growth of an area of study.

To learn more, please contact the Department of Development at 330-972-7238

How do I apply for a scholarship?

This is not the page to apply for scholarships.

Students who want to apply for scholarships should visit the scholarship page on the Financial Aid site.

The Department of Development does not accept applications for or distribute scholarships. Scholarships are distributed through the University’s Office of Student Financial Aid.

Students on campus

Search for a Named Scholarship

Search by letter
Search by text
Search by category


Tire Town Chapter Endowed Scholarship

The Tire Town Chapter (Akron, Ohio) was established in 1946 as a networking organization for women who desired a career in the secretarial and administrative professions. As career avenues have changed, the Tire Town Chapter has been dissolved, and The University of Akron Foundation has been selected to manage the Chapter’s scholarship funds. 

The Tire Town Chapter Endowed Scholarship fund was established in November 2014 in honor of four outstanding members of the chapter:

Marjorie W. Dull joined the National Secretaries Association in April 1957 and was a member for 35 years. She was a charter member and past president of the Findlay Star Chapter and a former member of the Canton CODI Chapter. Dull received her Certified Professional Secretary (CPS®) rating in 1959. She transferred her membership to the Tire Town Chapter (TTC) in 1967 and was TTC president in 1974. In 1977, Dull became the Chapter Secretary of the Year (SOTY), the Ohio Division Secretary of the Year, and the International Secretary of the Year (ISOTY). She was Tire Town’s first ISOTY. Dull was employed at the Akron Standard Mold Company. During her career, she successfully combined her interests in education and her profession. She wrote a copyrighted booklet for beginning secretaries and was named an honorary member of Delta Kappa Gamma for “outstanding contributions to the field of education.” Dull retired and with her husband, Lloyd, moved to Port Richey, Fla. After a long illness, she passed away May 2, 1992. The Marjorie W. Dull CPS Scholarship was named in her honor in 1977.

Mary Louise Gamble was a local girl from a working class family who attended The University of Akron. In 1950, she began working for Hazelton Simmons, president of the University. She later became secretary to President Norman Auburn in September 1951 and also served as secretary to the University Council. According to Auburn, Gamble was dedicated and friendly but a little shy. "She was the best secretary I had - and I had 36 of them," he said. Gamble truly was a skilled secretary, and based on her exceptional merits and contributions to Tire Town Chapter, a scholarship was named in her honor. Gamble was diagnosed with cancer at a time when little could be done about it. Sadly, she passed away in 1954 at the age of 36.

Lynne Ternent joined the Tire Town Chapter in 1969. Currently an active member, she has chaired and been a member of numerous committees. She served on the executive board for three years, becoming president in 1986, and was parliamentary advisor in 1995. Ternent was selected as Tire Town’s Secretary of the Year (SOTY) in 1986 and named Ohio Division SOTY, Great Lakes SOTY, and International SOTY in 1987. Ternent graduated from Green High School in 1961 and received an associate degree in executive secretarial science in June 1966 from The University of Akron. She received her Certified Administrative Professional (CAP®) rating in May 1968. Ternent worked as executive secretary to Dr. Richard Dobbins, director and founder of EMERGE Ministries Inc., in Akron for 38 years. In 2012, she retired as the administrative assistant to the chairman and CEO of Empire Wholesale Lumber Co. Since 1984, Ternent has volunteered as church secretary and member of the official board of The Church of New Hope in Stow, Ohio. She is an accomplished speaker and has been asked to speak at numerous functions. The D. Lynne Ternent, CAP, Scholarship was named in her honor in 1988.

Geraldine White was a charter member (1946) of Tire Town Chapter. During her career, she worked for the Trust Department of the First National Bank of Akron. She passed away in 1968.  In her will, she left a trust to be divided among five recipients upon the death of her brother, Horace, who died in 1992. Tire Town Chapter received $9,500. The Geraldine White Memorial Fund was established in 1992. The principal was invested, and proceeds are used to perpetuate the scholarship. UA's first Geraldine White scholarship was awarded in 2005.

The Tire Town Chapter Endowed Scholarship provides scholarships as monies are available to students majoring in business administration at The University of Akron. The College of Business Administration Scholarship Committee selects recipients. Recipients must be undergraduate or graduate students with a GPA of 3.0 or higher. Preferably, the recipient should be active in a student organization.

Was this information helpful?