Named scholarships

When it comes to earning a college degree, the greatest obstacle can be funding.

For this reason, The University of Akron is pleased for the opportunity each year to assist talented, deserving students achieve their dreams, thanks to more than 1,300 named scholarships established through the kindness and generosity of thousands of UA alumni and friends, corporations, and foundations.

Scholarships truly are the best way to ensure that today’s students persist to graduation. Scholarships allow students to enroll full time and remain focused on their studies; they also reduce drop-out rates, decrease the stress of student loans, and shorten the road to graduation.

The need for scholarships grows each year, however, as students continue to face an increased financial burden in pursuit of a college degree. In fact, 94 percent of today’s baccalaureate students borrow to pay for college – versus just 45 percent in 1993. Across the country, the average college-related debt for borrowers in the class of 2016 was $37,172; for Ohio students, that figure was $30,239.

If you are interested in making a significant contribution to student success, please consider a gift to the MAKING A DIFFERENCE AND MOVING FORWARD scholarship campaign, which is the University's most important initiative. You may also establish a named scholarship at The University of Akron, which can be created to honor a living person, in memory of a loved one, or to contribute to the growth of an area of study.

To learn more, please contact the Department of Development at 330-972-7238

How do I apply for a scholarship?

This is not the page to apply for scholarships.

Students who want to apply for scholarships should visit the scholarship page on the Financial Aid site.

The Department of Development does not accept applications for or distribute scholarships. Scholarships are distributed through the University’s Office of Student Financial Aid.

Students on campus

Search for a Named Scholarship

Search by letter
Search by text
Search by category


National Association of Women Judges’ Scholarship

The National Association of Women Judges (NAWJ), through its Access to Justice Scholarship Program in District 7, will provide The National Association of Women Judges’ Scholarship to a deserving University of Akron School of Law student who participated in Akron Law’s Summer Trial Academy.

The National Association of Women Judges’ mission is to “promote the judicial role of protecting the rights of individuals under the rule of law through strong, committed, diverse judicial leadership; fairness and equality in the courts; and equal access to justice.”

The Honorable Mary Margaret Rowlands, who earned her J.D. from The University of Akron School of Law in 1989, is a judge in the Summit County Court of Common Pleas. She also serves as Ohio state chair for NAWJ and is a principal architect of the Summer Trial Academy. Judge Rowlands is dedicated to diversity and equality in the legal profession, protecting individual rights, fairness and equality in the courts, and equal access to justice. Drawing from her pre-judicial career as a trial lawyer, she worked with Professor Dana Cole and others to create the Summer Trial Academy in 2015.

Students eligible for The National Association of Women Judges’ Scholarship must have successfully completed The University of Akron School of Law Summer Trial Academy and be in good academic standing. The scholarship will be awarded to a student who is committed to the achievement of equality of opportunity and access in the justice system.

To apply students must:

  1. Complete and submit the scholarship application;
  2. Write and submit a 400 to 600-word personal statement about how they intend to do their part to achieve equality of opportunity and access in the justice system and why they should otherwise be selected for this scholarship; and
  3. Include a current resume.

District 7 of the National Association of Women Judges includes Ohio, Michigan, and Kentucky. Scholarships are available to each state on an annual rotating basis. As such, The National Association of Women Judges’ Scholarship will be awarded to an Akron Law student during the years in which funds are available for Ohio.

Judge Rowlands and a committee of her designees will select the recipient after reviewing all applications.

Was this information helpful?