Named scholarships

When it comes to earning a college degree, the greatest obstacle can be funding.

For this reason, The University of Akron is pleased for the opportunity each year to assist talented, deserving students achieve their dreams, thanks to more than 1,300 named scholarships established through the kindness and generosity of thousands of UA alumni and friends, corporations, and foundations.

Scholarships truly are the best way to ensure that today’s students persist to graduation. Scholarships allow students to enroll full time and remain focused on their studies; they also reduce drop-out rates, decrease the stress of student loans, and shorten the road to graduation.

The need for scholarships grows each year, however, as students continue to face an increased financial burden in pursuit of a college degree. In fact, 94 percent of today’s baccalaureate students borrow to pay for college – versus just 45 percent in 1993. Across the country, the average college-related debt for borrowers in the class of 2016 was $37,172; for Ohio students, that figure was $30,239.

If you are interested in making a significant contribution to student success, please consider a gift to the MAKING A DIFFERENCE AND MOVING FORWARD scholarship campaign, which is the University's most important initiative. You may also establish a named scholarship at The University of Akron, which can be created to honor a living person, in memory of a loved one, or to contribute to the growth of an area of study.

To learn more, please contact the Department of Development at 330-972-7238

How do I apply for a scholarship?

This is not the page to apply for scholarships.

Students who want to apply for scholarships should visit the scholarship page on the Financial Aid site.

The Department of Development does not accept applications for or distribute scholarships. Scholarships are distributed through the University’s Office of Student Financial Aid.

Students on campus

Search for a Named Scholarship

Search by letter
Search by text
Search by category


Wilson, Virginia E. and Dr. Sharon A. Lesner Graduate Professional Fellowship for Students with Hearing Impairment

The Virginia E. Wilson and Dr. Sharon A. Lesner Graduate Professional Fellowship for Students with Hearing Impairment was established by Mrs. Virginia E. Wilson in 2011 in honor of her friend, Dr. Sharon A. Lesner, professor of audiology at The University of Akron. Mrs. Wilson credits Dr. Lesner for bringing her into the “hearing world” and helping her manage life despite having suffered from significant hearing loss since the age of 35. The Wilson and Lesner Fellowship is for hearing impaired students in the Doctor of Audiology (Au.D.) program within The University of Akron’s School of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology. Only students with hearing impairment accepted into the Au.D. Program at The University of Akron are eligible to apply for the fellowship. The following criteria will be used in selecting the recipient:

1)      Awards will be made only to students with hearing impairments;

2)      Only citizens of the United States are eligible;

3)      Only students enrolled at The University of Akron in their 2nd, 3rd, or 4th year of the Au.D. program are eligible;

4)      Scholastic performance will be a consideration;

5)      Financial need will be a consideration;

6)      Preference will be given to residents of the state of Ohio; and

7)      Preference will be given to students who have no other form of financial assistance from The University of Akron. 

The selection committee will consist of three members: the director of the School of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, a member of the audiology faculty having the greatest length of service in the School of Speech- Language Pathology and Audiology, and a third member selected by the first two designated above. If two or more members have the same length of service, then the second member of the committee shall be the one with the highest rank. If there is no agreement on the third member, then that member is to be named by the dean of the College of Health Sciences and Human Services. 

Was this information helpful?