November Safety Focus: Globally Harmonized System (GHS) Pictograms



This month, we will be focusing on the Globally Harmonized System (GHS) pictograms. These pictograms are part of all modern chemical labels, and are used to quickly identify the types of hazards that material presents.

There are 9 pictograms used in this system:

  1. Explosive
  2. Flammable
  3. Corrosive
  4. Oxidizer
  5. Compressed Gas
  6. Irritant / Harmful
  7. Toxic
  8. Health Hazard
  9. Environmental Hazard

These pictograms are identifiers to warn of the potential hazards present; they are used to supplement information available in the Safety Data Sheet (SDS) for the chemical. Always refer to the SDS for full proper handling and storage processes.

In-depth information on the GHS system, including the levels it has within each hazard class, can be found at:

Be Safe Out There.

Dr. Jason Randall
Director of Operations
P: 330-972-5337