2019 Honorees

Undergraduate Teaching Excellence – Mark Welfley

Celebrating 15 years of service to the College, Mark Welfley, assistant professor of practice of accounting, serves as Course Coordinator for Spreadsheet Modeling. Most commendable is his dedication to excellence inside and outside the classroom, his continuous efforts to keeping his course relevant and applicable, and the evidence of impact he has on students, other courses, and the mission to the CBA.

Graduate Teaching Excellence – Doron Narotzki

Joining the College of Business Administration in 2014, Dr. Doron Narotzki, assistant professor of accounting, is a professional leader in international tax and M&A. A testament to his teaching, as well as mentoring students outside the classroom, is the very strong placement of students who graduate from the Master of Tax program that have taken his courses.

Research Excellence – Co-winners:

For the first time ever, a tie! Equally deserving of this award for their very impressive records and publications, having published in the top 5 journals in their respective field based on the impact factors, as well as presentations, working papers, and other types of intellectual contributions over the past five years.

Sucharita Ghosh

A two-time Fulbright research scholar, Dr. Sucharita Ghosh, professor of economics, consistently demonstrates excellence through the quality of her research publications in high-quality journals, conference participations, and involvements in professional organizations, while also serving on the editorial board of the Atlantic Economic Journal and as referee for various journals.

Thaddeus Neururer

Dr. Thaddeus Neururer, assistant professor of accounting, joined the CBA in 2017. His publications have been in the top journals in the fields of accounting, finance, and management. His current research interests include the effect of accounting and related information on investor uncertainty, ex-ante risk distributions, the valuation of derivative securities, and asset pricing in general as well as the informational properties of analysts’ forecasts, their processing costs, information spillovers, and analysts’ non-EPS forecasts.

Service Excellence – Erin Makarius

It is often said if you want anything done, ask a busy person to do it. This year’s award recipient, Dr. Erin Makarius, associate professor of management, exemplifies this statement. While Erin’s contributions to academia are many, we especially draw attention to the following activities in which she has or does participate in: Human Resources Management (SHRM) advisor, Academic Program Review, Measuring Student Success Committee; President of the United States Council of Advisors on Science & Technology: Advanced Manufacturing Partnership 2.0 Work Creek Leader, Dissertation Committee (currently serves on three committees), and elected Representative at Large to the Academy of Management – Division Leadership.

Staff Excellence – Brenda Papoi

This year’s winner, Brenda Papoi, has demonstrated her willingness to support the college above her normal job requirements; first in support of the Taylor Institute and now as administrative assistant to the Marketing Department. She demonstrates the ability to be proactive and innovative. Coming on board in 2008, Brenda is an excellent team player, puts a high priority on the needs and success of the CBA, and successfully works with people in the college, across the UA campus, and with outside business partners.

The Roger T. Read Advisory Board Engagement Award – Roger Read

This award will be added to the Dean’s Excellence Awards going forward. The award was established May 3, 2019 to recognize outstanding service and engagement in the College of Business Administration by an advisory board member. Named in his honor, a plaque was presented to Roger Read to celebrate the establishment of this award and to also recognize Roger’s outstanding years of service, mentorship, and steadfast loyalty to the College of Business Administration.