The University of Akron wins a trifecta at the ACS Rubber Division Awards


Pictured Left to Right: Sadhan Jana, Jimmy Mays, Judit Puskas, Edward Miller

A UA Department of Polymer Science alumnus, Dr. Jimmy Mays, Professor & ORNL Distinguished Scientist at The University of Tennessee, joins two of UA’s prominent professors, Dr. Sadhan Jana of the College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering and Dr. Judit Puskas of the College of Engineering, as awardees at The American Chemical Society Rubber Division 191st technical meeting.

Dr. Mays received the Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award at the meeting. He graduated with a PhD in polymer science from the College of Polymer Science and Polymer Engineering in 1984, and is currently a professor in the Department of Polymer Chemistry at The University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

A celebratory reception was held on Wednesday, April 26, hosted by CPSPE and COE in which 40 people were in attendance to honor the awardees. Congratulations Dr. Mays, Dr. Jana and Dr. Puskas!