Bachelor of Science/Doctor of Medicine Degree
(B.S./M.D. Program)

Program Overview

The University of Akron, Kent State University, Youngstown State University, and Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED) offer, as a consortium, a six (or seven)-year B.S./M.D. program ( The program consists of two Phases. Phase 1 is the undergraduate curriculum and Phase 2 is medical school at NEOMED. Each year the University of Akron admits 35 carefully selected students into its B.S./M.D. degree option. Only students with no college credit after graduation from high school are eligible. However, students with college credit taken as high school students are eligible. Out-of-state high school students may apply. However, be aware that this is a state funded program. Therefore we give preference to Ohio residents. The chances of an out-of-state student being offered an interview is greatly reduced.

If you are not eligible to apply for the BS/MD Program, you can pursue a "traditional" pre-med path at The University of Akron’s Buchtel College of Arts & Sciences (BCAS). Please consult with a BCAS academic adviser for information concerning "traditional" pre-med curriculum, by email: or call (330) 972-7880 to schedule an appointment.

Students selected for the program enter Phase 1, the B.S. degree phase, and obtain the baccalaureate degree (BS-Natural Science BS/MD) in two (or three) years on the Akron campus (summers included). The course work during this period focuses chiefly on studies in the humanities, social studies, and all basic premedical sciences. (See Course Requirements or Frequently Asked Questions) Progress through Phase 1 is based on academic performance and development of personal maturity appropriate to assumption of professional responsibility. The Phase 1 Committee on Academic and Professional Progress (CAPP), including University and College of Medicine faculty, assess these factors and recommend the Phase 2 student for promotion and formal admission to Phase 2, the medical school.

During Phase 1, B.S./M.D. students usually pursue a Natural Sciences division major in the Buchtel College of Arts and Science, although other majors may be selected with the approval of The University of Akron's B.S./M.D. Program Academic Coordinator.

Phase 1 students who successfully complete coursework requirements, maintain required grade point averages, achieve required scores on the Medical College Admission Test (MCAT), and meet all other standards of readiness for medical education are promoted directly to NEOMED for Phase 2 of the B.S./M.D. program. Phase 2 consists of a four-year medical school course study, at the NEOMED campus and at selected clinical campuses.

In Phase 2, the first and second years of study is devoted primarily to the basic medical sciences, e.g. anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pathology, etc., and is conducted at the NEOMED campus in Rootstown, Ohio. In years three and four, the student develops competence in the clinical aspects of medicine through instruction provided principally at one or more of the associated community hospitals. Successful completion of the six (or seven)-year program leads to the award of the Bachelor of Science degree by the University of Akron and the Doctor of Medicine degree by the Medical University (NEOMED).

To apply to the program, complete the online application found at; Admissions; College of Medicine; BS/MD Program. The application is generally posted around August 1st. If you have any questions about completing the online application, contact NEOMED at 330-325-6270. The application fee covers the cost of application to all three universities.

For more information about The University of Akron's BS/MD Program, please click on this link for Frequently Asked Questions.

After reviewing the Frequently Asked Questions page, if you have further questions, you may contact The University of Akron at or 330-972-5639.